~ The Marriage License ~
Please be aware that I cannot perform your wedding ceremony without a valid Massachusetts license!
*Please see notes below regarding weddings in Rhode Island and Massachusetts with links to state web sites
The State of Massachusetts requires that you have a current marriage license issued in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. It is not necessary to apply for it in the town where the wedding is being held or the town in which you live. You may apply for your marriage license in any city or town in Massachusetts.
Both of you, as a couple must be present when applying for your marriage license. There is a three day waiting period starting the day you apply for your license. You can pick up your license at the town hall on the 4th day. The license is valid for 60 days from the date you filed.
It is very important that you completely review the license while at the town hall to ensure that all of the information is accurate and correct. This includes your personal information as well as the expiration date (located on the upper left hand side of the document).
It is a good idea to contact the Town Clerk in advance to find out the fees and requirements, as they may be different from town to town. (The fees may range from $15.00 to $50.00 for your application.)
After your wedding, I complete and sign the marriage license and return it back to the town clerk at the town hall where you obtained your license. You must contact that town clerk about one week after your wedding to obtain an official certificate. Please note that there may be a small fee involved.
*Blood tests are optional as it is not a requirement in the State of Massachusetts.
*Witnesses are not required.
*You are not required to exchange rings; however, rings are a traditional symbol of love and marriage.
Vow renewals – although it is not necessary to apply for another license, a copy of your original one is requested by me; but not a requirement...
Please visit the following web sites for official state information related to wedding license requirements in Massachusetts and Rhode Island.
Massachusetts Law About Marriage
Rhode Island Domestic Relations
Rhode Island Marriage Licenses
*Please note that the guidelines in Rhode Island are different than the Massachusetts ones. I will update you when we are in touch. I perform RI weddings as an ordained minister in Northern RI only. Please note that there are additional fees for me to perform weddings out of state.
Beautiful Wedding Ceremonies
by Justice Carol
Justice Carol Roberts
P.O. Box 965
Mansfield MA 02048 US